About Us


To inspire and enrich people and communities through meaningful storytelling, entertainment, education and public engagement. 


Inspire, Enrich, Engage


  • Creativity and Innovation
  • Public Engagement
  • Community Building and Education
  • Stewardship and Sustainability
  • Passion and Thoughtfulness
  • Diversity and Inclusion
  • Trust and Respect

Mountain Lake PBS is owned and operated by the Mountain Lake Public Telecommunications Council – a volunteer board of trustees representing the geographic area of the station’s broadcast signal. Mountain Lake PBS is a non-profit organization, and is the licensee of WCFE TV/Channel 57. We are represented in Canada by Les Amis Canadiens de Mountain Lake PBS. Mountain Lake PBS has a volunteer Community Advisory Board to provide the station with additional support and guidance.

The station serves as a member of the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS), for which around forty percent of our funding comes from voluntary contributions made by individual members, businesses and organizations. The remaining comes from various foundation support, New York State, and the Corporation for Public Broadcasting.

Mountain Lake PBS provides high quality and non-commercial programming to approximately 4 million people throughout New York, Vermont, and Quebec, carrying PBS favorites like NOVA, Masterpiece, PBS Newshour, Frontline and a variety of children's programs including Sesame Street, Arthur and Curious George. Mountain Lake PBS also produces local programs including Mountain Lake Journal and occasional public forums. 

We reach over 3.9 million viewers via antenna reception, cable or satellite providers in New York, Vermont, Quebec and Ontario.

Board of Directors


Executive Committee
  • Dr. James Liszka (BoardChair), NY
  • Charlotte Brimstein (1st Vice Chair), NY
  • Peter Ensel (2nd Vice Chair), NY
  • Jim Holmes (Treasurer), NY
  • Devi Momot (Secretary), NY
  • Jacqueline Kelleher (Immediate Past Chair), NY


  • Jeffrey Rendinaro, NY
  • Colin Read, NY
  • Dr. Mark Davey, NY
  • Deb Cleary, NY
  • Aaron Woolf, NY
  • Antonietta Ciarlone, Canada
  • Miriam Goulding, NY
  • Patrick Russell, NY
  • Thomas Hoy, NY
  • Erik Nycklemoe (President & CEO), NY

2016 Meeting Dates
Held at 5:00 pm at Mountain Lake PBS station unless otherwise indicated.
  • January 19, 2016
  • February 23, 2016
  • April 26, 2016
  • June 28, 2016
  • August 30, 2016
  • October 25, 2016
  • December 13, 2016


  • Connie Fisher
  • Eleanor Garrell Berger
  • Janice Marchut Conrad
  • David Curry
  • Deena McCullough
  • Caroline Thompson Rubino
  • Marty Maggy
  • Dan Senkowski
  • Ray Suarez
  • Justin Barrett-Stearns
  • Greg Gregoriou, PHD
  • Margot Zeglis
  • Charlotte Brimstein (Board Liason)

2016 Meeting Dates 
Held  at Mountain Lake PBS station unless otherwise indicated.
  • March 30, 2016 4pm
  • June 16, 2016 3pm
  • September 16, 2016 4pm
  • December 7, 2016 4pm

Copies of open Board Meeting minutes are available upon request at the station. In compliance with Section 396(k) of the Communications Act, Mountain Lake PBS maintains an open meeting policy. The public is welcome at all meetings.  The public may also call our station directly at 518-563-9770 and inquire as to the above meeting information and copies of minutes.


Station reports

Station reports

Mountain Lake PBS' Audited Financial Statements, 990, 990T and Local Content and Service Report is available by using the links above are updated within days of their availability.  Inspection of financial records is available by appointment at the station.  Copies of any public financial statements will be made available within 5 business days of request at a cost of 10 cents per page (USD). 

Mountain Lake Public Telecommunications Council
[Call Sign - WCFE]

The purpose of this EEO Public File Report (“Report”) is to comply with Section73.2080(c)(6) of the FCC’s 2002 EEO Rule. This Report has been prepared on behalf of the Station Employment Unit that is comprised of the following station(s): [WCFE and Communities of License] and is required to be placed in the public inspection files of these stations, and posted on their websites, if they have websites.

The information contained in this Report covers the time period beginning February 1,2013 to and including January 31, 2014 (the “Applicable Period”).

The FCC’s 2002 EEO Rule requires that this Report contain the following information:

  1. A list of all full-time vacancies filled by the Station(s) comprising the Station Employment Unit during the Applicable Period;
  2. For each such vacancy, the recruitment source(s) utilized to fill the vacancy (including, if applicable, organizations entitled to notification pursuant to Section 73.2080(c)(1)(ii) of thenew EEO Rule, which should be separately identified), identified by name, address, contactperson and telephone number;
  3. The recruitment source that referred the hiree for each full-time vacancy during theApplicable Period;
  4. Data reflecting the total number of persons interviewed for full-time vacancies during theApplicable Period and the total number of interviewees referred by each recruitment sourceutilized in connection with such vacancies; and
  5. A list and brief description of the initiatives undertaken pursuant to Section 73.2080(c)(2) ofthe FCC rules.

Appendices 1, 2 and 3 which follow have been designed, in the aggregate, to provide therequired information. Please note that the numbers listed on Appendix 2 under the columnentitled “Full-time Positions for Which This Source Was Utilized” refer to the number of thefull-time job positions listed on Appendix 1.

For purposes of this Report, a vacancy was deemed “filled” not when the offer was extended but when the hiree accepted the job offer. A person was deemed “interviewed” whether he or she was interviewed in person, over the telephone or by e-mail.

Executive Staff

Executive Staff

erik nycklemoe

President & CEO:
Erik Nycklemoe

Director of Programming & On Air Fundraising:
Paul King

Director of Communications:
Jennifer Kowalczyk


Director of Fundraising & Business Development: 
Janine Scherline

tom rogers

Director of Engineering:
Tom Rogers

Bill McColgan

Director of Production & Content:
Bill McColgan

Beth Davis

Director of Sales & Events:
Beth Davis


Donate ▸